Loading...

Our Team

Our Team2018-10-18T08:59:11+00:00

Collectively, we have more than 145 years of real estate experience. And we do not believe in the ‘one size fits all’ mentality. We are dreamers and doers, experience seekers and visionaries, who embody the concept of what it means to be one-of-a-kind. We’re so excited to show you how we continue to chart new paths for new and innovative trends and designs for our clients.

key icon

John Joy

Builder, President + CEO

Based in McLean, Virginia, John Joy has been in the business of building dream homes since 2003. From his father, a commercial real estate developer in the Washington, DC area, John learned about construction, and spent more than 25 years as a real estate agent before realizing that builders weren’t listening. It was difficult finding homes for his clients that would suit not only where they were at that point in their lives, but also anticipate future needs to enable them to age in place, so he started his own company.

John’s wife, Lisa Joy, an attorney whom he met at the settlement table buying a property 17 years ago, now handles most of Joy Design + Build listings and sales, and is an agent with McEnearney Associates in McLean.

Lisa was a package deal with two daughters now 28 and 22, and the couple were lucky enough to have a son Jack together who just turned 16.

Jack and John love to surf all over the world and Lisa is a hoarder of sea shells so it’s a good combination. Recently, the family returned from a trip to Tavarua, an amazing 26 acre island in Fiji.

145 Years of Combined Real Estate Experience

divider

Phil Chandler

Land Acquisition
phil@joycustom.com

Read Bio

Adam Crisman

Director of Purchasing
adam@joycustom.com

Read Bio

Heidi Kallett

Marketing Director
heidi@joycustom.com

Read Bio

Bob Kamphuis

Director of Construction
bob@joycustom.com

Read Bio

Tim Moser

Project Manager
tim@joycustom.com

Read Bio

Jason Outten

Land Acquisition + Permitting
jason@joycustom.com

Read Bio

Tara Richmond

Design Concierge
tara@joycustom.com

Read Bio

Marc Shaw

Project Manager
marc@joycustom.com

Read Bio

Chris Weisgerber

Project Manager
chris@joycustom.com

Read Bio

Kristy Young

Office Manager
kristy@joycustom.com

Read Bio

Look who’s talking

divider

When building a custom home, you deserve the very best. And that’s Joy Design + Build. Don’t believe us? Check out some of our amazing accomplishments and recognition here:

#Winning